Around The Grounds - Grand Finals

Kookaburra Sports A1 Premier Grade


Prince Alfred Old Collegians v Pooraka



INSPIRED bowling and a fine knock from Lachlan Griffiths played key parts in Prince Alfred Old Collegians beating Pooraka in their A1 Turf Cricket Grand Final at Park 9 last Sunday.


 Chalking up 216 after Griffiths led the charge with 83 with the bat which included 11 fours and one six, the Reds dismissed the Bulls for 105 in 39 overs, ending the Bulls’ hopes of winning four consecutive A1 flags.


Jack Dent led the Reds’ bowlers with 4/36, while Shishir Ramakrishna was tight with 3/7 from eight overs as the minor-premier Reds celebrated their first A1 flag since 2014/15.


Reds’ coach Trent English said it was an excellent effort from the team, not only in the final but during the season.

“We lost to Pooraka in round one and since then we have won every game,” English said.


“But just because you are minor premier doesn’t guarantee you anything. It was a fairly comprehensive result and a reward for their hard work.”


The club also celebrated the individual success of captain Jack Latchford and wicketkeeper Michael Richardson who made the Adelaide Turf Cricket Association team of the year, announced last week.


For Pooraka, its emotional bid for four straight A1 turf cricket flags was not to be.


With the memory of club and team champion Rocco Illuminato, who passed away in November last year, the team took to the field wearing black armbands and with Rocco’s name as 12thman on the team sheet, as it has done in matches since Rocco’s death.


The Bulls’ hopes were hampered by what appeared a hamstring injury to star player Mark Hanson and injury to key bowler Steven Marks. Shane Virgens led the bowling attack with 4/62, while Matthew Travis took 3/39.


Captain Jye Bailey said the team gave it everything. “It was a very emotional game and has been a tough season,” Bailey said.


“Rocco has been with us all the way and was so special. We are all pretty flat but I am very proud of everyone. We had a couple of injuries but it is 11 against 11. They (PAOC) are a very good side.’’



Beastwear A2 Grade


Trinity College Old Scholars v Marion



Trinity College Old Scholars capped off an outstanding season by beating Marion in the A2 Grand Final after winning the A3 flag in 2017/18.


On Saturday Trinity compiled 8/317 from its 80 overs with Brad Cameron dominating with 111 (third ton for the season), Tim Viner-Smith with 94 and Mitchell Dearing providing support with 35. Jace O’Hara then did his bit with the ball on Sunday to snare a season-best 6/59, Marion captain Warrick Stanborough (80) among his scalps.


Trinity College OS captain Eythan Barraclough praised his side’s commitment.


“We didn’t know quite what to expect coming from A3 but everyone has stepped up to A2 very well,” Barraclough said.


“And the inclusion of Ali Forwood as coach has been terrific for our club to take us to back-to-back flags.


“We know we will have to recruit maybe a couple of players for A1 next season but this group we have will form the basis of our team going forward.”


For Marion it was a case of not enough contributors on the big stage.


Facing a tough chase the Rams were dismissed for 177 in 47 overs, losing 5/25 at the end of their innings. Marion captain Warrick Stanborough played a dominant hand with 3/84 with the ball on Saturday and a threatening 80 (12 fours) on Sunday to give his side a chance at 3/127 after stumbling to 3/50. But when Stanborough was dismissed with the score on 5/152 the rest of the batting fell away. Jordan Kilderry made 24, while Chris Geddie backed up with 23.


Stanborough, who was selected in the Adelaide Turf Cricket Association team of the year, also was the competition’s leading wickettaker with 55 wickets.


Despite the loss Marion, along with Trinity College OS, will compete in A1 nest season.